Getting Ready


  • The plans for the MAC simulation call for a total of 24 delegations each representing a party to the discussions.
  • Delegations will be comprised of three delegates.
  • Each delegation will be assigned a country or an international or non-governmental organization to represent during the proceedings.

The parties which will be represented during the Model Arctic Council are:


Member States:

  • Canada
  • Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe  Islands)
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Russian Federation
  • Sweden
  • The United States of America


Permanent Participants:

  • Aleut International Association
  • Arctic Athabaskan Council
  • Gwich’in Council International
  • Inuit Circumpolar Council
  • Saami Council
  • Russian Arctic Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON)


International/Non-Governmental Organizations:

  • Arctic Circumpolar Gateway
  • World Conservation Union
  • World Wildlife Fund
  • Advisory Committee on the Protection of the Seas
  • Northern Forum
  • International Union for Circumpolar Health


Non-Arctic/Observer Countries:

  • United Kingdom
  • France
  • Poland
  • Germany